Finished copies of the following CDs and DVDs were received in the fRoots office during February 2018. Please note that we do not list or review from advance CDRs or music outside fRoots’ remit (see FAQ pages). Inclusion in these listings does not automatically mean that a printed review will follow, though it is more likely.

Last month’s listing

3hattrio Lord Of The Desert (Okehdokee)
Afrikana Soul Sister (Afrikana)
Altan The Gap Of Dreams (Compass)
Anna & Elizabeth The Invisble Come To Us (Smithsonian Folkways)
Erlend Apneseth Nattsongar (Heilo)
Thom Ashworth Hollow EP (Thom Ashworth)
Ali Fuat Aydin & Cenk Güray Öte (Felmay)
Manfred Bartmann Frisia Orientais II (Obaxe Music)
Beautiful Nubia & The Roots Renaissance Band Amundun (EniObanke)
Birds Of Chicago Love In Wartime (Signature Sounds)
Black Flower Intermediate State (Sdban Ultra)
Blowzabella Two Score (Blowzabella)
The Burgoynes No Way Of Telling (The Burgoynes)
Cara Live (Artes)
Sousou & Maher Cissoko Made Of Music (Jaliya)
ComboNations Dunya (Heilo)
Connla The Next Chapter (Connla)
Cua Songs Of The Hollow (Cua)
Barbara Dane Hot Jazz, Cool Blues & Hard Hitting Songs (Smithsonian Folkways)
The Dead South Illusion & Doubt (DevilDuck)
Djeneba & Fousco Kayeba Khasso (Lusafrica)
Domo Emigrantes Aquai (Domo Emigrantes)
Duck Soup Everything And… (Hebe Music)
Duotone A Life Reappearing (Duotone)
Supriyo Dutta & Federico Sanesi Passionate Voice (Felmay)
Josie Duncan & Pablo Lafuente The Morning Tempest (Oakridge)
Tim Easton Paco & The Melodic Polaroids (Campfire Propaganda)
Sinan Cem Eroglu & Muhlis Berberoglu Hemdem (Ahenk)
Ferd Music Without Borders (Heilo)
Geza Frank & Jean Damei Event Horizon (Event Horizon)
Dom Flemons Black Cowboys (Smithsonian Folkways)
Finbar Furey Don’t Stop This Now (BMG)
Gaiteros De Lisboa A História (Uguru)
The Gloaming Live At The NCH (Real World)
Glymjack Light The Evening Fire (Storm Lantern)
Phamie Gow Beyond The Milky Way (Wildfire)
Hector Guerra Desde El Infierno (Kasba)
Niall Hanna Autumn Winds (Niall Hanna)
Ben Harper & Charlie Musselwhite No Mercy In This Land (Anti)
A Hawk & A Hacksaw Forest Bathing (LM Duplication)
Graham Hine Invisible Man (Sunhouse)
Pol Huello & Friends The Lost Agenda (Goasco Music Production)
Inyal Inyal (Inyal)
Andy Irvine & Luke Plumb Precious Heroes (AK)
Luke Jackson Solo Duo Trio (First Take)
Lena Jonsson Places (Playing With The Music)
Ian Kearey & Paul Wigens Golden Section (Environmental Studies)
Keith Kendrick & Sylvia Needham Shine On (WildGoose)
Robert Kirby The Orchestrations Of…When The Day Is Done (Ace)
Peter Knight’s Gigspanner Big Band Live (Gigspanner)
Oumar Konate Live In Bamako (Clermont Music)
Lucibela Laco Umbilical (Lusafrica)
Duo Emilia Lajunen & Suvi Oskala Piilokisa (Nordic Notes)
Mélissa Laveaux Radyo Siwel (No Format)
Lews Castle College UHI Nead nan Ceoladair (Lews Castle College UHI)
The Lonesome Ace Stringband When The Sun Comes Up (MAPL)
Jez Lowe The Dillen Doll (Tantobie)
James Duncan Mackenzie Sromo (James Duncan Mackenzie)
Una Monaghan For (Una Monaghan)
Monsieur Doumani Angathin (Monsieur Doumani)
Brendan Mulholland, Conor Lamb, Deirdre Galway Music In The Glen (Mulholland, Lamb, Galway)
Nawaris Migration (Home)
Ninebarrow The Waters Are Wild (Winding Track)
Of The Clay Of The Clay (Of The Clay)
Okra Playground Aaneni Yli Vesien (Nordic Notes)
The Oran Project Music Without Borders (Birnam CD)
Declan O’Rourke Chronicles Of The Great Irish famine (Maiesta Music)
Orquesta Akokan Orquesta Akokan (Daptone)
Owl Light Trio: Owl Light (Owl Light Trio)
Ken Perlman Frails & Frolics (Redbud)
Planxty One Night In Bremen (Mig)
Ma Polaine’s Great Decline The Outsider (OMH)
Will Pound Through The Seasons (Lulubug)
John Prine The Tree Of Forgiveness (Oh Boy)
Alasdair Roberts, Amble Skuse & David McGuiness What News (Drag City)
Los Rumberos De La Bahia Mabagwe (Eguin Eje)
Eva Salina & Peter Stan Sudbina (Vogiton)
Compay Segundo Nueva Antologia 20 Aniversario (Warner Spain/Rhino)
She Shanties She Shanties (She Shanties)
Martin Simpson An Introduction To… (Topic)
Chris Smither Call Me Lucky (Signature Sounds)
Sogesong Sa Vide Fara Dei Lindarord (Heilo)
Sonido Gallo Negro Mambo Cosmico (Glitterbeat)
Ayuune Sule We Have One Destiny (Makkum)
Sarah-Jane Summers Solo (Dell Daisy)
Adam Sutherland Some Other Land (Errogie)
Tal National Tantabara (Fat Cat)
Ebo Taylor Yen Ara (Mr Bongo)
Three Legg’d Mare Teiliwr: Tailor (Three Legg’d Mare)
Trembling Bells Dungeness (Tin Angel)
Johnny Tucker Seven Day Blues (City Hall)
The Turbans The Turbans (Six Degrees)
Ugagn Vengjeslag (Heilo)
Various The Best Country Blues You’ve Never Heard (Rough Guide/World Music Network)
Nancy Vieira Manha Florida (Lusafrica)
The Watersons An Introduction To (Topic)
Hedy West From Granmaw And Me (Fledg’ling)
The Yellow-Bellied Sapsuckers Don’t Think About Tomorrow Tonight (YBSS).


Shirley Collins The Ballad Of Shirley Collins (Earth Recordings)
Tom Feldmann The Slide Guitar Of Muddy Waters (Stefan Grossman’s Guitar Workshop)